Welcome

, popularity : 100%

The Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree ChEMoinformatics+ is a two years training accessible to candidates with a Bachelor degree (180 ECTS) diploma in Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physical Chemistry, Chemical Physics, Pharmacy. It involves two mobilities: one year in one university of the consortium, the other one in another university of the consortium including another mobility.

The start of the next edition of the program is September 2022.


Chemoinformatics

Introduction

Chemoinformatics is a new field which is quickly evolving. It concerns the development, creation, organization, storage, sharing, analysis, visualization and use of chemical information. It is a major discipline in theoretical chemistry [Molecular informatics, 30(1), 20-32, 2011], using artificial intelligence and data sciences to tackle the current social and innovation challenges in chemistry.

Nowadays, the specific methods of Chemoinformatics has become an essential part of the development of new compounds, material and processes. The need for Chemoinformatics approaches has raised with the increasing amount of data in chemical sciences. As an illustration, the Chemical Abstract Service started the Chemical Registry System in 1965, recorded the 10th million chemical substance in 1990, the 50th million substance in 2009, the 100th million in 2015 and the 150th million substance in 2019. Major industry leaders have met the challenges posed by this wealth of chemicals data through the development of novel Chemoinformatics tools. For instance, Novartis deployed the first Chemoinformatics tools in 1995 and since then, their infrastructure has grown to the point that in 2014, more than 20 million chemical structures were processed per year. Subsequently, the large amount of information potentially available for each compound have led to the rise of artificial intelligence in Chemoinformatics. As an illustration, the ExCAPE-DB database [Journal of cheminformatics, 9(1), 17, 2017] reported over 70 million structure-activity relationship data points for about 1 million compounds and 1700 targets.

Chemoinformatics approaches are also crucial in addressing environmental and sustainability related concerns as expressed, for example, by the REACH directive (in force since 2017) and by the Toxic Substance Act issued by the US Environmental Protection Agency. These acts have increased the approval
requirements for compounds entering the market to the point that the volume and cost of experimental tests have become prohibitively expensive. Thus, chemoinformatics approaches have been proposed by the OECD since 2004 [http://www.oecd.org/chemicalsafety/risk-assessment/37849783.pdf] as recognized alternatives to experimental tests.

History

The master originated from the DESS Informatics applied to Chemistry (« DESS Infochimie »). It was created at the Faculty of Chemistry of the former ULP (today University of Strasbourg) in 2001 by the Prof. A. Varnek. The first textbook in this field [J. Gasteiger, T. Engel, Chemoinformatics, 2003, WILEY-VCH, 649 pp.] mentioned 4 universities in the world (2 in the UK, 1 in the USA and the University of Strasbourg) that had initiated the Chemoinformatics teachings.

Since 2010, the master developed as a network of double master degree network in Chemoinformatics with Paris (2019), Milan
(2016 and 2019), Ljubljana (2019), Lisbon (2019), Kiyv (2017), Kazan (2018), Saint-Petersburg (2016) and Ramat-Gan (2020).

Consortium network
A geographical description of the Universities participating to the ChEMoinformatics+ network.

This broad network includes now most of the worldwide renowned specialists in Chemoinformatics. It is supported by major industry leaders in chemistry and disposes of an active community of over 250 alumni [LinkedIn group Master Chemoinformatics].

Goals

The ChEMoinformatics+ consortium aims at training specialists for the Chemical and Pharmaceutical industry, with strong skills in chemistry, basic computer science and specific chemoinformatics methods. It seeks to improve the output expectations of the diploma in terms of excellence, employability and entrepreneurship. These higher output expectations are accompanied by high standards in the recruitment of the students. Thus scientific excellence and employability are achieved trough (i) excellent students from different backgrounds of chemistry and different cultures; (ii) efficient training of Chemoinformatics experts able to develop new methods and adapt them to different situations and environments; (iii) training professionals used to work in an international environment. Supervision is carried by researchers and professors specialized in chemistry, computer science and chemoinformatics, as well as industrial working in the field.

Know-how and skills

The teaching program include specialized chemistry lectures covering some aspects of Chemoinformatics (quantum chemistry, molecular modelling) or its applications (drug chemistry, chemistry of materials, supramolecular chemistry). Students acquire basics skills in computer science (operating systems, programming langages, internet), storing and processing of data (databases, data mining) and specific skills in chemoinformatics (in silico structures representation, chemical databases, structure-property methods, theoretical combinatorial chemistry, virtual screening). An internship of 5-6 months is prepared in the industry or in a laboratory.

The collection of skills and knowledge required by the degree explains why it is needed to bring together so many sites with their own specific patterns of excellence. There exists rare if any alternatives that deliver the entire spectrum of the competences needed in order to implement a research or R&D project in this field. Medicinal chemistry is certainly the historical driving force of chemoinformatics. However, similar problems related to the increase of the number of known chemical substances, the rise of complexity of the information collected for each substance and the limitations of physical models have led many other disciplines in Chemistry to similar solutions. Namely, data mining and artificial intelligence have proven to be very relevant tools to face these challenges. This is the case for materials [npj Comput Mater, 2019, 5(83)], for agro-chemistry [CHIMIA, 2018, 72(12), pp. 907-907], for flavours [PloS one, 2018, 13(6), e0198475] and cosmetics. This is also the case for ecological concerns [QSAR & Env. Protection, 2019, 30(7), ppp. 507-524].

A sector that is easily forgotten, but which is crucial for the competitiveness of these application domains are the specialized software companies that propose and develop tools for research and R&D projects in chemoinformatics. Employers of graduates in Chemoinformatics are also companies like Schrödinger (US), OpenEye (US), CCG (Canadian), ChemAxon (EU), Iktos (EU), DiscEngine (EU), BiosolveIT (EU), Cresset (EU), StarDrop (EU), Inte:Ligand (EU), Fujitsu FQS (Japan), Dassault Biovia (EU).These companies are mainly small and medium sized companies on a global scale; their access to fully trained specialists is however necessary to bring cost effective, fast and agile solutions to industrial and academic challenges as illustrated in the current pandemic situation, where chemoinformatics approaches have been massively implemented by all pharmaceutical companies.

To summarize, trained specialists in Chemoinformatics are rare worldwide while there is currently an increasing need of them, to tackle present innovation and societal challenges. Therefore, the ChEMoinformatics+ consortium aims at training excellent specialists that have also a very strong background in application domains.

Therefore, within the two years’ program of study, students chose among the following seven study tracks:

  1. In Silico Design of Bioactive Molecules (Milan - Paris - Strasbourg)
  2. Chemoinformatics and Physical Chemistry (Milan - Strasbourg)
  3. Chemoinformatics for Biophysical and Computational Chemistry (Ljubljana - Strasbourg)
  4. Chemoinformatics for Organic Chemistry (Lisbon - Strasbourg)
  5. Chemoinformatics and Chemical reactions (Kazan - Strasbourg)
  6. Ultra Large Chemical Library Design and Virtual Screening (Kiyv - Strasbourg)
  7. Chemoinformatics and Materials Informatics (Bar Ilan - Strasbourg)

Environnement

This master program is part of a broader educational system that includes summer schools and introductory short courses for professionals.

Summer School in Chemoinformatics

A summer school is organized every two years in the University of Strasbourg. Internationally renowned specialists are invited to give lectures on the latest developments in Chemoinformatics. Practical sessions are organized. The 8th school will take place from June 27 to July 1, 2022 [http://infochim.u-strasbg.fr/spip.php?rubrique286]. Every other year since 2011, the summer school has been organized by Strasbourg and by the Kazan Federal University in Russia [https://cimm.site/kssci2019/]. Starting in 2018, Bar-Ilan University and the University of Strasbourg are coorganizing
the French-Israeli workshop in Chemoinformatics, every two years.

-->

Bienvenue

, popularité : 100%

Le Master conjoint Erasmus Mundus ChEMoinformatics+ est une formation de deux ans accessible aux candidats titulaires d’un diplôme Bachelor (180 ECTS) en Chimie, Biochimie, Physico-Chimie, Chimie Physique, Pharmacie. Il comporte deux mobilités : une année dans une université du consortium, l’autre dans une autre université du consortium incluant une autre mobilité.

Le début de la prochaine édition du programme est septembre 2022.


Chémoinformatique

Introduction

La chimioinformatique est un nouveau domaine qui évolue rapidement. Il concerne le développement, la création, l’organisation, le stockage, le partage, l’analyse, la visualisation et l’utilisation de l’information chimique. C’est une discipline majeure de la chimie théorique [Informatique moléculaire, 30(1), 20-32, 2011], utilisant l’intelligence artificielle et les sciences des données pour relever les défis actuels de société et d’innovation en chimie.

De nos jours, les méthodes spécifiques de la chémoinformatique sont devenues un élément essentiel du développement de nouveaux composés, matériaux et procédés. Le besoin d’approches chémoinformatiques a augmenté avec la quantité croissante de données en sciences chimiques. À titre d’illustration, le Chemical Abstract Service a initié le Chemical Registry System en 1965, enregistré la 10 millionième substance chimique en 1990, la 50 millionième substance en 2009, la 100e millionième en 2015 et la 150 millionième substance en 2019. Les principaux acteurs de l’industrie ont relevé les défis posés par cette richesse de données sur les produits chimiques grâce au développement de nouveaux outils chémoinformatiques. Par exemple, Novartis a déployé les premiers outils chémoinformatiques en 1995 et depuis lors, leurs infrastructures se sont développées au point qu’en 2014, plus de 20 millions de structures chimiques étaient traitées par an. Par la suite, la grande quantité d’informations potentiellement disponibles pour chaque composé a conduit à l’essor de l’intelligence artificielle en chémioinformatique. A titre d’illustration, la base de données ExCAPE-DB [Journal of cheminformatics, 9(1), 17, 2017] intègre plus de 70 millions de données de relation structure-activité pour environ 1 million de composés et 1700 cibles.

Les approches chémoinformatiques sont également cruciales pour répondre aux préoccupations environnementales et de durabilité telles qu’exprimées, par exemple, par la directive REACH (en vigueur depuis 2017) et par le Toxic Substance Act publié par l’Agence américaine de protection de l’environnement. Ces textes ont augmenté les exigences pour l’approbation des composés entrant sur le marché au point que le volume et le coût des tests expérimentaux sont devenus prohibitifs. Ainsi, des approches chémoinformatiques sont proposées par l’OCDE depuis 2004 [http://www.oecd.org/chemicalsafety/risk-assessment/37849783.pdf] comme alternatives reconnues aux tests expérimentaux.

Histoire

Le master est issu du DESS Informatique Appliquée à la Chimie (« DESS Infochimie »). Il a été créé à la Faculté de Chimie de l’ancienne ULP (aujourd’hui Université de Strasbourg) en 2001 par le Pr A. Varnek. Le premier manuel dans ce domaine [J. Gasteiger, T. Engel, Chemoinformatics, 2003, WILEY-VCH, 649 pp.] mentionnait 4 universités dans le monde (2 au Royaume-Uni, 1 aux USA et l’Université de Strasbourg) ayant initié les enseignements de Chémoinformatique.

Depuis 2010, le master s’est développé en réseau de double diplômes de master en Chémoinformatique avec Paris (2019), Milan
(2016 et 2019), Ljubljana (2019), Lisbonne (2019), Kiev (2017), Kazan (2018), Saint-Pétersbourg (2016) et Ramat-Gan (2020).

Consortium network
A geographical description of the Universities participating to the ChEMoinformatics+ network.

Ce grand réseau intègre aujourd’hui les spécialistes en Chémoinformatique parmi les plus renommés au monde. Celui-ci est par des acteurs majeurs de l’industrie chimique et repose sur une communauté de plus de 250 anciens étudiants [LinkedIn group Master Chemoinformatics].

Objectifs

Le consortium ChEMoinformatics+ vise à former des spécialistes pour l’industrie Chimique et Pharmaceutique, ayant de solides compétences en chimie, en informatique et en méthodes chémoinformatiques spécifiques. Il vise à améliorer les perspectives des diplômés en termes d’excellence, d’employabilité et d’esprit d’entreprise. Ces exigences s’accompagnent de normes plus élevées dans le recrutement des étudiants. Ainsi, l’excellence scientifique et l’employabilité sont atteintes grâce (i) à d’excellents étudiants issus de différents horizons de la chimie et de différentes cultures ; (ii) une formation efficace d’experts en chémoinformatique capables de développer de nouvelles méthodes et de les adapter à différentes situations et environnements ; (iii) former des professionnels habitués à travailler dans un environnement international. L’encadrement est assuré par des chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs spécialisés en chimie, informatique et chémoinformatique, ainsi que des industriels travaillant dans le domaine.

Connaissances et compétences

Le programme d’enseignement comprend des cours de chimie spécialisés couvrant certains aspects de la chémoinformatique (chimie quantique, modélisation moléculaire) ou ses applications (chimie du médicament, chimie des matériaux, chimie supramoléculaire). Les étudiants acquièrent des compétences de base en informatique (systèmes d’exploitation, langages de programmation, internet), stockage et traitement de données (bases de données, fouille de données) et des compétences spécifiques en chémoinformatique (représentation de structures in silico, bases de données chimiques, méthodes structure-propriétés, théorie de la chimie combinatoire, criblage virtuel). Un stage de 5-6 mois est préparé en milieu industriel ou académique.

L’ensemble des compétences et des connaissances requises par le diplôme explique pourquoi il est nécessaire de fédérer autant de sites avec leurs propres profils d’excellence. Il existe peu ou pas d’alternatives offrant l’éventail complet des compétences nécessaires pour mettre en œuvre un projet de recherche ou de R&D dans ce domaine. La chimie médicinale est certainement le moteur historique de la chémoinformatique. Cependant, des problèmes similaires liés à l’augmentation du nombre de substances chimiques connues, à la montée en complexité des informations collectées pour chaque substance et aux limites des modèles physiques ont conduit de nombreuses autres disciplines de la chimie à des solutions similaires. Plus précisément, la fouille de données et l’intelligence artificielle se sont avérés être des outils très pertinents pour faire face à ces défis. C’est le cas des sciences de matériaux [npj Comput Mater, 2019, 5(83)], de l’agrochimie [CHIMIA, 2018, 72(12), pp. 907-907], des fragrances [PloS one, 2018, 13 (6), e0198475] et cosmétiques. C’est également le cas pour les préoccupations écologiques [QSAR & Env. Protection, 2019, 30(7), ppp. 507-524].

Un secteur facilement oublié mais qui est crucial pour la compétitivité de ces domaines d’application est celui des éditeurs de logiciels spécialisés qui proposent et développent des outils pour les projets de recherche et de R&D en chémoinformatique. Les employeurs des diplômés en chémoinformatique sont aussi des entreprises comme Schrödinger (États-Unis), OpenEye (États-Unis), CCG (Canada), ChemAxon (UE), Iktos (UE), DiscEngine (UE), BiosolveIT (UE), Cresset (UE), StarDrop (UE), Inte:Ligand (UE), Fujitsu FQS (Japon), Dassault Biovia (UE). Ces entreprises sont principalement de petites et moyennes taille à l’échelle mondiale ; leur accès à des spécialistes parfaitement formés est cependant nécessaire pour apporter des solutions rentables, rapides et agiles aux défis industriels et académiques, comme l’illustre la situation pandémique actuelle, où les approches chémoinformatiques ont été massivement mises en œuvre par toutes les sociétés pharmaceutiques.

Pour résumer, les spécialistes formés en Chémoinformatique sont rares dans le monde alors qu’il y a actuellement un besoin croissant de leurs compétences, pour faire face aux défis actuels de l’innovation et de la société. Par conséquent, le consortium ChEMoinformatics+ vise à former d’excellents spécialistes qui ont également une solide expérience dans les domaines d’application.

Par conséquent, dans le programme d’études de deux ans, les étudiants ont à choisir parmi les sept filières d’études suivantes :

  1. In Silico Design of Bioactive Molecules (Milan - Paris - Strasbourg)
  2. Chemoinformatics and Physical Chemistry (Milan - Strasbourg)
  3. Chemoinformatics for Biophysical and Computational Chemistry (Ljubljana - Strasbourg)
  4. Chemoinformatics for Organic Chemistry (Lisbon - Strasbourg)
  5. Chemoinformatics and Chemical reactions (Kazan - Strasbourg)
  6. Ultra Large Chemical Library Design and Virtual Screening (Kiyv - Strasbourg)
  7. Chemoinformatics and Materials Informatics (Bar Ilan - Strasbourg)

Environnement

Ce programme de master est intégré dans un système pédagogique plus vaste qui inclus des écoles d’été est des formations professionelles.

Ecoles d’été en Chémoinformatique

Une école d’été est organisée tous les deux ans à l’Université de Strasbourg. Des spécialistes de renommée internationale sont invités à donner des conférences sur les derniers développements en chémoinformatique. Des séances pratiques sont organisées. La 8e école aura lieu du 27 juin au 1er juillet 2022 [http://infochim.u-strasbg.fr/spip.php?rubrique286]. Tous les deux ans depuis 2011, l’université d’été est organisée par Strasbourg et par l’Université Fédérale de Kazan en Russie [https://cimm.site/kssci2019/]. A partir de 2018, l’Université Bar-Ilan et l’Université de Strasbourg co-organisent l’atelier franco-israélien de chémoinformatique, tous les deux ans.

-->